The Advantages of Closing a Few Doors

By JOHN TIERNEY
Published: February 26, 2008 in The New York Times

Link to article here.

13 Responses to “The Advantages of Closing a Few Doors”

  1. Cat Chew Says:

    predictablyirrational.com

  2. Kate Anne Says:

    Hiya, Cat Chew — glad you noted I am following you on Twitter. I am having a fun time getting tweets from some friends and good liberal/progressive groups. (HuffPost just sent too many so I unsubscribed — and I know where to find them easily.)

    Anyway, the new Blue Roots Radio is great. Find me whenever at my blog(s) or via twitter as PeaceHugs — Hugs to YOU!

    Hope you find this.

  3. dan Says:

    hey cc. enjoy your time away. god speed.

  4. Cat Chew Says:

    The last two years of slacking off have been so good to me, I’ve decided to ignore this place for another couple. Still, glad I dropped by today. Nice to see you here. 🙂

  5. ellwort Says:

    Oof!
    “Contemporary critics such as Paul Krugman have argued that, in its modern form, contrarianism presents an appearance of independent thought while failing to challenge, or actually reinforcing, the dominant orthodoxy of the US political and media establishment.”
    – from Wikipedia, “Contrarian”

    As coolly independent as such a viewpoint may seem, it may lead to proceeding with beliefs that are just factually wrong.

    Did you read any of Tierney’s paleoconservative op-eds when he had his short-lived access to space on the NY Times’s op-ed page?
    – – – – – – –
    Still, it’s great to see you, Cat Chew.

  6. Cat Chew Says:

    Disclaimer: This post is not an endorsement of Tierney, or libertarianism, or paleoconservatism, or Xiang Yu, or treating your troops horribly, or Dan Ariely, or behavioral economics, or marketing.

    I was going for something simple-minded, along the lines of it seems a good idea to examine automatic responses to situations and make adjustments when necessary, or maybe that the activity of keeping all your options open can get in the way of doing what’s important to you. Just a little something interesting to think about.

    Thanks for stopping by, ellwort. Good to read you 🙂

    • ellwort Says:

      Sorry, Cat Chew, if my previous remark sounding like barking. I didn’t at all mean to yell at you or anything. But climate-change-doubter “scientist” Tierney bring up my bile. It’s hard for me to read his stuff without a jaundiced eye.

      Still, I essentially agree with the view he summarizes. Follow your bliss; don’t look back. Within ethical limits. I pretty much live my life that way – it’s fun. There are many goofy impossible coincidences.

      May all your coincidences be happy. 😉

  7. Michael Says:

    IT’S ALIVE !

    The Cat Chew Blog,that is.. 😉

    • Cat Chew Says:

      Michael, good to see you here! 🙂

      Blog is comatose, but not dead yet.
      I closed the door, but every once in a while, I peek in.

      See you over at BRR, by and by.

  8. BlueRootsRadio Says:

    BRR is on life support. I come here to be resuscitated. I’M ALIVE, I’M ALIVE

    If that image didn’t make it: http://www.agiledevelopment.nl/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/its-alive.jpg

Leave a Reply

